Dickwella fined for attempted Mire stumping

Niroshan Dickwella has been fined 30% of his match fee, and handed two demerit points, for a stumping attempt in the first ODI against Zimbabwe that was deemed to be “contrary to the spirit of the game” by match officials.

The incident had occurred in the seventh over of Zimbabwe’s innings on Friday. Dickwella gathered the ball, and waited many seconds for Solomon Mire to leave the crease, before finally breaking the stumps, long after Mire had completed the shot.

When Dickwella made the appeal, the decision was sent to third umpire Nigel Llong, who found the batsman to be in his crease at the time the bails were dislodged in any case. Keepers have often waited for batsmen to overbalance before whipping off the bails, but, on this occasion, the umpires who laid the charge had likely taken exception to the length of time that elapsed between the stroke’s completion and the stumping…

Continue Reading to the Source

Latest articles

Aus vs Ind 2020-21 – T Natarajan added to...

T Natarajan, the Tamil Nadu and Sunrisers Hyderabad left-arm seamer, has been added to India's ODI squad, just hours before the series opener, as...

Aus vs Ind 2020-21 – Ishant Sharma ruled out...

Hours after India captain Virat Kohli revealed the team management was confounded by the absence of both Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma in Australia,...

Lions register first win as Markram returns to form

Results Summary The defending champions, the Lions, registered their first win of this season's competition by chasing down a record total against the Knights...

Aus vs Ind 2020-21 – Virat Kohli on ICC...

Virat Kohli and Tim Paine exchange team sheets before the coin toss © Getty Images India captain Virat Kohli has questioned the ICC for altering...

Similar articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter