Kane Williamson, Trent Boult rested for Sri Lanka T20Is; Tim Southee to lead

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and senior pacer Trent Boult have been rested for the T20 leg of the ongoing Sri Lanka tour. In Williamson’s absence, Tim Southee will lead a squad that includes a fit-again big-hitting keeper-batsman Tim Seifert and three spin options in Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle and Ish Sodhi.

“Kane and Trent played an enormous role in our recent World Cup campaign and with a big summer ahead, we see it as a good opportunity to give them a rest,” selector Gavin Larsen said.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Seifert, who had suffered a finger injury during the four-day Plunket Shield and later missed the World Cup, returned to the side, as did Tom Bruce. The aggressive Central Districts batsman wasn’t part of New Zealand’s squad for their last T20I series against India, but he was particularly impressive in the Super Smash T20 competition, hitting 353 runs in 11 innings at an average of nearly 40 and strike rate of 157.58.

Seam-bowling allrounder Doug Bracewell, who had been included in the squad for those T20Is against India earlier this year – though he did not get into the XI – was left out now. Seth Rance was picked as a like-for-like replacement.

Fast bowler Scott Kuggeleijn and allrounder Daryl Mitchell, the son of former All Black John Mitchell, have both retained their places in the squad as New Zealand seek to identify their combination for the T20 World Cup next year.

“Following that amazing ride in the ODI World Cup, it’s exciting to begin setting our sights on another world event,” Larsen said. “The series in Sri Lanka will be a challenging one against a team who are tough to beat in their own conditions.

“Our T20 team has been pretty consistent over the past couple of years and we’re really happy with the power and versatility we have in this squad.”

All three T20Is will be played in Pallekele, with the first game on September 1.

Squad: Tim Southee (capt), Todd Astle, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhome, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

Source link

Latest articles

Live Report: Australia vs India, 4th Test, Brisbane, 2nd...

Welcome to our live report of the second day of the Australia-India Test from Brisbane. Join us for updates, analysis and colour. You can...

Lou Vincent to check with ECB on ‘leniency’ on...

Lou Vincent, the former New Zealand opener, is considering an approach to the ECB to plea for "leniency", more than six years after being...

South Africa vs Pakistan women

NewsThis will be South Africa's first assignment since their semi-final appearance at the T20 World Cup in Australia in March last yearSune Luus will...

Jansen replaces Baartman as South Africa fly to Pakistan

NewsA 21-member squad, with nine fast bowling options, is set to depart tonight Left arm-seamer Marco Jansen will replace Ottniel Baartman in South Africa's...

Similar articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter